Jumping Right In

I love reading inspirational stories in the news that highlight the selfless acts of goodness that people are involved in.  When those stories deal with the heroism of children, I am twice as moved.  That was the case this morning as I read a story from our southern Jersey neighbors about an eight-year old boy who saved his friend from drowning.

In an article that ran in The Journal News, the reporter writes that the boy was able to save his friend because of things he learned from swimming lessons he had taken and also things he saw on the cartoon show “SpongeBob SquarePants.” He was prepared and unafraid to jump in to save his friend. It made me think of the Biblical story of Jesus asking Peter to walk on the water towards him.  Peter, as we all know, faltered and began to sink.  When I look at my young nieces and nephews, I can see that there are very few things that frighten them.  As adults, I think we sometimes lose that ability to jump in or take that step.  I know for sure I have!  Sometimes it’s even hard for me to face my fear of heights by stepping onto an escalator!

This little boy was able to save his friend because of what he learned from swimming lessons and a cartoon.  This amazing story shows that we may be more prepared than we think to do and handle things that arise in our lives.

Leave a Reply

