A Professional Win, With a Personal Story

This weekend the Catholic Press Association held its awards ceremony in New Orleans. Catholic New York won first place in the general excellence category and that is reason enough to celebrate. But there was also a personal reason for me to celebrate.  One of my articles came in third place!!

As luck would have it, I didn’t hear my cell phone ring when my editor called with the news. However, when I replayed his message telling me that I had won for an article I had written regarding a Confirmation Mass at St. Joseph’s Seminary in Yonkers for children with disabilities, I smiled because I remembered that assignment so well.  At the end of the Confirmation Mass, I sat in my car in the parking lot – and removing my business face— allowed myself to shed the tears of happiness that I felt after seeing the joy of the children and teenagers who received confirmation that day. It was a moment that truly inspired my faith. I know moments like that are rare, and I was grateful to have experienced it. And to have won an award for the article is something that I cannot properly describe with words.

If you’d like to read the article, visit http://www.cny.org/archive/ld/ld8060409.htm

One thought on “A Professional Win, With a Personal Story”

Leave a Reply

