Sacred Heart Revisited

Today is the Feast of the Sacred Heart.  It’s a feast day that I was unfamiliar with before I began working for Catholic New York. I had heard of the Sacred Heart, and had seen countless images of the Sacred Heart in artwork, on prayer cards and medals – but did not have a firm understanding of what the feast day was all about.

I thought I would share the things that I have learned about the Sacred Heart, and invite you to share what you know as well!

The feast of the Sacred Heart is a day that the Church celebrates in honor of Jesus’ love for us.  From what I have heard and read online, it showcases not only his human heart, but his sacred heart. When I was growing up, I always thought that images of the Sacred Heart of Jesus were sad in nature, but now that I know the meaning behind the image, I can relate to it much better. And with the sun shining brightly in New York on this beautiful Friday, the setting is perfect for a feast day that celebrates Jesus’ love for us.

One of the greatest shortfalls in my spiritual journey is forgetting to thank God for all the wonderful things in my life.  I find that when I am angry or upset, that is when I pray the most.  But feast days like today are a good reminder of God’s love, and hopefully as I continue growing, I’ll begin to say joyful prayers more often.

Have a happy Friday, and a good weekend everyone!

2 thoughts on “Sacred Heart Revisited”

  1. My father has always had a special devotion to the Sacred Heart- in times of trouble- and there was plenty of that, raising 8 kids on a Catholic educator’s salary- faith was what got he and my mom through it. And they have passed that faith down to all of us. In good times and in bad, it is part of who we are.

    Like

Leave a Reply

