The Importance of Being

Like many of you, I am at an age where there is a great deal happening all at once both in my own life and with my friends.  Marriages, anniversaries, job changes and layoffs, beginning families, taking care of elderly parents, to name a few things that shape young adult life. I am not sure about you, but it’s often easy to get caught up in the “I should have done this,” or “I wish I had done that” or the most harrowing of all negative thoughts “Am I where I am supposed to be?”

Three years into our marriage, my husband and I are often bombarded with the “where are the babies?” question. Others of you out there may have similar questions, such as “why aren’t you married yet?” or “you’re thinking of changing your career now?” There is so much emphasis for young adults on the future – which of course is important – but the here and now also needs its fair share of attention.

I like to write down inspirational quotes when I hear or read them and I have a few on the idea of living in the present moment.  One of my favorites from Jesus is this: “Do not worry about tomorrow, for tomorrow will worry about itself. Each day has enough trouble of its own” (Matthew 6:34). When people ask me questions about the future, I try to remind myself of things like this and remember, I am right where God wants me to be.

What are your thoughts when you are asked similar questions in your own life?

2 thoughts on “The Importance of Being”

  1. I think it’s so important to appreciate today for what it is. Tomorrow is coming no matter what. And many times today’s issues are nothing come tomorrow, next week, next month or next year. Live (and love) in the moment when you can because we don’t know what tomorrow will bring.

    Like

Leave a Reply

