Keeping an Eye on the ‘Little’ Things

I’m sure many of you reading this in cyberspace have felt similar to how I feel today – that the day is flying by so fast that it’s hard to remain in control of all that you have to do. When that happens, it’s easy to become overwhelmed and find yourself rushing through things on your to-do list, or even neglecting some altogether.

When I worry about finishing all I need to do, I often email my mother who responds without fail with the same advice: “one thing at a time.” It’s good advice, and is similar to the words of St. Therese of Lisieux (a cloistered French nun who died in her 20s) who is famous for her “little way.” In her journal, which was published after her death, she wrote about doing small things with great love. Focusing on the small tasks and giving them the same attention and care as the big tasks is a good way to keep control of the day.

Is there any advice that you have received over the years that helps you remain in control of a hectic day?

One thought on “Keeping an Eye on the ‘Little’ Things”

  1. “Don’t sweat the small stuff” is the best little saying I’ve received, courtesy of my brother’s wife. It’s really true. I don’t know how she does it; she’s a well-educated, executive woman who is also married (to my endearing but insane brother no less) and raising two adorable boys. She’s right, you can’t sweat small stuff because you get sooo incredibly worked up that you lose sight of the more important things.

    I tried to implement that thinking during these last few busier than usual days at work. I’ve been having bad luck for some reason and getting worked up, which has translated into me making mistakes I have no business making. This morning, I took a deep breath before i came into work and tried to tackle one thing at a time. Today has been going better!

    Like

Leave a Reply

