Instant or Slow-Brewed: Faith Is Good Both Ways

Anyone who knows me knows that I am a diehard coffee drinker. Flavored, non-flavored, instant or slow-brewed,  I like it all. This morning, as I was rushing to get out the door for work, I made two cups of instant coffee for my husband and I. While I was drinking that coffee this morning, I began to think about all the different ways people can get a little jolt (pun intended) of faith.

When I make a real pot of brewed coffee, it’s often because there is company over – someone to enjoy and share a cup with. In many ways, this is similar to Sunday Mass, with many people gathered together to enjoy one another’s company and celebrate a shared faith. On the other hand, reading a few pages of a religious book, or article, or even saying a quick, impromptu prayer remind me of that cup of instant coffee. I find that in my life, it’s good to have both kinds of faith practices to keep me going in an otherwise hectic life.

2 thoughts on “Instant or Slow-Brewed: Faith Is Good Both Ways”

  1. I’ll take the real thing every time. Instant just doesn’t do it for me. It may be more work or or take more but in the end it is so worth it.

    Like

Leave a Reply

