Archbishop Dolan – One Year In, and Still Going Strong

It has been exactly one year to the day that Archbishop Dolan celebrated his Mass of Installation at St. Patrick’s Cathedral. After following the archbishop around this past year on different story assignments, it seems that he is right at home in New York.

When he first came to New York, I wondered if his charisma was for real. But now, after seeing him interact with a variety of people – from the people in the pews to the pulpit, he really is how he appears on television – friendly, funny, and above all, dedicated. Over the course of this past year, I’ve been at a few assignments when the archbishop really shined.  And while the following may not make the evening news, they really stand out as memorable quotes that I’ve heard over the past year.

When interviewing Archbishop Dolan’s second grade teacher, Sister Mary Bosco Daly, on April 3, 2009, she described the archbishop this way: “He was a regular, ordinary boy. Like the rest of them.”

And here is a sweet one from a young student from the Cardinal O’Connor School in Irvington, who said of the archbishop after his visit to the school there, “I didn’t know he was going to be so cheerful.”

And here is a remark from the archbishop from a Manhattan Theology on Tap gathering in February that shows he already has a New York sense of humor: “The Mets are great for the Church” because people “light candles in front of St. Jude.” For those of you who do not know – St. Jude is the patron saint of lost causes.

3 thoughts on “Archbishop Dolan – One Year In, and Still Going Strong”

  1. Archbishop Dolan came to NY after I had already left, but from what you say I am happy to hear that he is serving as a dedicated, compassionate man of faith. It’s lovely to hear a child describe him as “cheerful”!

    I know all about St. Jude!! My mother prays to him quite often!! 🙂

    Like

  2. That personality of our dear Archbishop also inspires the same in others. A few months ago when I was led into the parlor to meet him in his residence, thinking, “OK now, I have to say, ‘Good evening, Your Excellency’, keep the protocol. remember what to say….” And when I walked in and saw him standing there, I just blurted out, “Hi!” I guess being a Midwesterner, I felt even more at home…

    Like

  3. Archbishop Dolan has made an immediate impact for the better. That in no way detracts from the many contributions of his predecessors. I was especially impressed with his willingness to openly challenge the NYT. That takes some chutzpah. I pray that Archbishop has many joyful and fruitful years guiding his flock.

    Like

Leave a Reply

