Making Mistakes and Moving On

When it comes to making mistakes, it seems that there are two opposite reactions people have. The first reaction is to immediately push the blame away from themselves and onto another person or excuse. The second, and this is a camp I usually fall under, is to internalize the mistake so much that efforts to fix the error are ignored.

Today I arrived at work to find that I had made an error in a caption I wrote for the last issue of the paper. I must admit, it was a sloppy error and one that should not have occurred.  If I had taken my time and paid attention more closely, the error could have been avoided.

I am bringing this up because the mistake fits in well with one of the messages I think of with the Gospel story of Jesus entering the room where his disciples were staying, even though the door was closed, to show the doubting Thomas his wounds after his Resurrection. (This story was from the Gospel reading yesterday.) Thomas’ need to feel the wounds shows his human weakness. Yet, Jesus shows him the wounds and tells him “do not be unbelieving, but believe.”

I like to think Jesus wanted to make sure that Thomas was able to move forward so he could continue his work as a disciple.

Are there any stories—Gospel or otherwise—that help you move forward when you make a mistake?

2 thoughts on “Making Mistakes and Moving On”

  1. I have always felt that a large part of moving on was based on reconciliation and forgiveness. We should learn from our mistakes. Find out why things went wrong and work to not repeat it. Rather than looking to place blame and point fingers if we forgive but don’t forget, the lesson stays with us and we grow. And learning to forgive ourselves is often the hardest part. We may be generous to others and yet torture ourselves for our oversights, errors and omissions. If we are going to help ourselves and others we need to keep moving and not dwell on what was.

    Like

  2. I have made my share of mistakes, some little and some pretty big. Either way, I think that the story of Thomas is applicable to our daily lives. Yes, we all make mistakes, but it is important not to dwell too much but instead to learn from it and move on. As Matt points out, it’s imperative that we can forgive ourselves!

    There was a particular situation in my life last year that I certainly wish I could have learned that lesson a little quicker, but I’m happy that I can at least know I’ll never make that mistake again. It’s taken me some time, but I can forgive myself and in doing so I’ve become a wiser, more compassionate gal.

    Like

Leave a Reply

