Helping the Homeless on the Street

Many times on my walk to work, I pass the same homeless person who asks for money.  This person is obviously in dire straits, and may suffer from a mental disorder.  Sometimes, I will stop and give whatever spare change I happen to have in my pocket.

I have to admit that some mornings I purposely avoid eye contact and hope I am not asked for money.  Whether I give or not, the familiar words of Jesus go through my mind – “For I was hungry, and you gave me something to eat; I was thirsty, and you gave me something to drink; I was a stranger, and you invited me in” (Mt 25:35).

When I give money, I feel wonderful, and think, wow, God will remember that when I get up to heaven.  When I don’t, however, I wonder – am I denying Jesus food and water each time I pass this person and leave them empty handed? I know there are charities that assist the homeless, but will they reach this one particular person that I could reach and help every day?

It makes me wonder and think about the often-quoted and possibly overused phrase – what would Jesus do?

One thought on “Helping the Homeless on the Street”

  1. It’s so easy to turn a blind eye to those in need. I think just the fact that you think about this person and you try to understand their life shows what a good Christian you are. I am sure when you do give him the spare change you are being double-y blessed.

    Nice essay. Makes one think.

    Like

Leave a Reply

