Finding Motivation on Monday

When Monday morning rolls around, I find it hard to jump back into the workweek. It’s often difficult to start the same old routine over again. However, I’ve been reading a book that has inspired me to look at routines in a different way.

My sister-in-law gave me the Mitch Albom book “Have a Little Faith” for my birthday in December. Last week, I started to read it, and am so glad that I did.  Without giving too much away, part of the story focuses on the author’s relationship with his childhood rabbi.  At one point, he asks his rabbi how he feels following the same routine day in and day out.  In a moving and eloquent way, Albom describes the rabbi’s response to the gifts of tradition and routine in a person’s life. The rabbi’s quote really stuck in my head: “You are how you act, not just how you believe.” Even though the rabbi is talking about faith, I think that concept can be applied to all areas of life.

Whether it’s work on Monday mornings, or other routines and traditions that make up my life, I’m going to try to take more care to focus on the actions of my life – and try to value those things that may seem like the same old thing.

2 thoughts on “Finding Motivation on Monday”

Leave a Reply

